Regulation, Unmanned

Drones Get New Seat on FAA Advisory Council

By Staff Writer | September 29, 2017
Send Feedback

The FAA’s Management Advisory Council now has seven new members, U.S. Transportation Department Secretary Elaine L. Chao announced Thursday.

Council members are charged with advising the FAA’s senior management on policy, spending, long-range planning and regulatory matters. New members include:

  • Philip Trenary, former CEO of Pinnacle Airlines
  • Brian Wynne, CEO of Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)
  • William Ris, former SVP of government affairs for American Airlines
  • Donna McLean, former Transportation Department assistant secretary for budget and programs and CFO
  • Jeffrey Shane, former Transportation Department undersecretary for policy
  • Huntley Lawrence, director of the aviation department for Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
  • Richard DeVos, president for Windquest Group and former CEO 0f Amway

New members join six incumbent members:

  • Jeffrey A. Rosen, deputy secretary for the Transportation Department
  • Maj. Gen. (ret.) Rowayne Schatz, associate deputy chief of staff for operations for the U.S. Air Force
  • Paul Rinaldi, president of National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA)
  • Steve Alterman, president of Cargo Airline Association
  • John E. “Jack” Potter, president and CEO for Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Gwynne Shotwell, president and COO for SpaceX

Receive the latest avionics news right to your inbox